Rochester Studies in Medical History
The University of Rochester Press is seeking manuscripts for its series Rochester Studies in Medical History (RSMH). The editor of the series is Christopher Crenner, the Hudson-Major Professor of the History of Medicine and Chair of the Department of History and Philosophy of Medicine at the University of Kansas Medical Center. Supporting the editor is the assistant editor, Ryan Fagan, PhD, and an editorial board consisting of scholars from leading institutions and programs across the US and abroad. The series brings together a mix of titles and formats, ranging from monographs by a single author to edited volumes representing multiple authors and points of view.

The editor of this series seeks to bring to readers publications that will advance an understanding of health, illness, and healing in a broad historical context. The series promotes work especially that promises to elucidate the history of public health and health policy, the history of clinical and investigative medicine, and the history of the biomedical sciences and their application to practice, and works that deepen our historical appreciation of the cultural and social significance of medicine and disease.

To submit an appropriate project for consideration, please fill out and send to the series editor the University of Rochester Press proposal form, available here. The form should be accompanied by the following:
  1. A brief but detailed synopsis of the work, outlining its original contribution to the existing literature
  2. An abstract of approximately 200 words, summarizing the work’s content
  3. A table of contents and, if possible, one or two representative sample chapters
  4. An updated CV for the author or editor of the volume.

Series Editor

Christopher Crenner, MD, PhD
Department of the History and Philosophy of Medicine
University of Kansas Medical Center
913 588-7040

Advisory Board

Anne-Emanuelle Birn, ScD (University of Toronto)
Christopher Hamlin, PhD (University of Notre Dame)
David Rosner, PhD (Columbia University)
David S. Jones, MD/PhD (Harvard University)
George Weisz, PhD (McGill University)
Judith W. Leavitt, PhD (University of Wisconsin)
Michael Sappol, PhD (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Susan Lederer, PhD (University of Wisconsin)