The Victoria History of the County of Lancaster

January 1912
37 black and white, 21 line illustrations
526 pages
30.5x20.8 cm
Victoria County History
ISBN: 9780712910590
Format: Hardback
Victoria County History

The Victoria History of the County of Lancaster

Volume Seven

J. Brownbill

Edited by William Farrer

The volume contains the histories of the three ancient parishes in Blackburn hundred north of the Ribble (Mitton, Chipping. and Ribchester) and of the eight ancient parishes in Amounderness hundred (Preston, Kirkham, Lytham, Poulton-le-Fylde, Bispham, part of Lancaster, St. Michael-on-Wyre, and Garstang). A very large part of Amoundernesshundred is the level area between the Ribble estuary and Cockerham Sands called the Fylde and one known as 'the wheatfield of Amounderness'. Some of the ancient parishes include places that have become larger, more populous, and better known than the old centres ofpopulation which gave the parishes their names. Poulton-le-Fylde includes Fleetwood, and Bispham is better known to the world as the seaside resort of Blackpool, which also extends into Poulton.

Also by Author

Also in Series