The Pierrot Ensembles

The Pierrot Ensembles

Chronicle and Catalogue, 1912-2012

Christopher Dromey

Edited by Christopher Wintle


Paperback out of stock


Plumbago Books



The evolution of the mixed chamber ensemble of Schoenberg's Pierrot lunaire and the growth of the Fires of London, one of the most galvanizing groups in modern music.
2012 marked the centenary of the first performance of Arnold Schoenberg's Pierrot lunaire, Op. 21, and over the last hundred years its mixed chamber ensemble has become, in all its protean forms, a principal line-up for modern music. This book, the first of its kind, chronicles the ensemble's evolution from Pierrot's earliest performances, monitoring its influence on the Continent as well as upon Walton, Britten, Lutyens and Searle in Britain. In particular, it watches the growth of The Pierrot Players [later The Fires of London] one of the most galvanizing groups in post-war British music, and looks carefully at the social dynamics among its players and composers, notably Peter Maxwell Davies and Harrison Birtwistle. With photos, and drawings by Milein Cosman and David Hockney.

CHRISTOPHER DROMEY took his PhD at King's College London and is now Senior Lecturer in Music at Middlesex University.

An e-book version of this title is available (9780993377426), to libraries through a number of trusted suppliers. See here for a full list of our partners.


304 pages
24x16.5 cm
Poetics of Music
Paperback, 9780956600738, January 2013
Hardback, 9780956600721, January 2013
Library eBook
Plumbago Books
BISAC MUS006000, MUS020000, MUS005000
Share on Facebook   Share on Twitter   Pin it   Share by Email

Related Titles

The LaSalle Quartet

The LaSalle Quartet

Starting at: $34.95


Dromey's book succeeds most in the new information that it provides on the Pierrot Players and The Fires of London ... a very useful bibliography. NOTES

This book is a celebration of [Schoenberg's] chamber composition "Pierrot Lunaire". [...] Highly Recommended. CHOICE

Also by Author

Also in Series