The Music of Aaron Copland

January 1985
14 black and white illustrations
264 pages
22.2x14.3 cm
Toccata Press

The Music of Aaron Copland

Neil Butterworth

First survey of Copland's entire output for some 30 years - a period seeing some of his most important works.
Aaron Copland was one of the twentieth century's most popular and distinguished composers. Copland was born in 1900 in Brooklyn, where he began his musical career, before moving to the Paris in the 1920s, where Stravinsky, Prokofiev and Les Six were the centre of attention. On his return to the United States at the end of the decade he began to produce a series of works which could leave no one in any doubt that American composers were capable of writing music equal to the best of their European contemporaries.

This chronological survey of Copland's work discusses ever one of his compositions and examines his influential writings on music. Profusely illustrated with music examples and photographs, it includes a conversation on the piano music with Aaron Copland and Leo Smit and also features sketches of Copland in rehearsal by Milein Cosman.

NEIL BUTTERWORTH was formerly Head of Music at Napier College, Edinburgh.
Keywords: Music