Goethe Yearbook

The Goethe Yearbook, first published in 1982, is the flagship publication of the Goethe Society and is dedicated to North American Goethe scholarship. 

The Yearbook aims above all to encourage and publish original English-language contributions to the understanding of Goethe and other authors of the Goethezeit, while also welcoming contributions from scholars around the world. The book review section seeks likewise to evaluate a wide selection of recent publications on the period, and should be of interest to all scholars of eighteenth-century literature.

Originally conceived as a vehicle for Goethe criticism in English during the Cold War political tensions, when the most prestigious Goethe publication, the Goethe-Jahrbuch, was not available to most Western scholars, the Yearbook subsequently gained the respect of the international community under the editorship of Thomas P. Saine. Under his successors, Simon Richter and Daniel Purdy, the Yearbook went to an annual publication schedule. Adrian Daub and Elisabeth Krimmer edited volumes 21 through 25. Starting with volume 26, published in 2019, the editors are Patricia Anne Simpson and Birgit TautzSean Franzel is the book review editor. See this link to the Goethe Society of North America webpage for more information, including current members of the Editorial Advisory Board.

The Yearbook invites submissions in English or German on Goethe, his works, his contemporaries, or the period 1770-1832 in general. All manuscripts should be prepared in accordance with the Yearbook’s style sheet, available at https://www.goethesociety.org/yearbook. Manuscript submissions should be no longer than thirty pages. Inquiries or manuscripts should be directed to editors Patricia Anne Simpson and Birgit Tautz at this email: [email protected]. Books for review should be sent to the Book Review Editor, Sean Franzel, at the Department of German and Russian Studies, University of Missouri, 451 Strickland Hall, Columbia, MO 65211-4170.

See all Goethe Yearbook titles