Beethoven: The Sonatas for Piano and Violin

January 1985
14 black and white illustrations
224 pages
22x14.3 cm
Toccata Press

Beethoven: The Sonatas for Piano and Violin

Thoughts on their Interpretation

Max Rostal

A rich survey of all Beethoven's sonatas for violin and piano.
The first in over half a century to be devoted to a detailed analysis of the complete Beethoven sonatas for violin and piano, this book arose from the author's desire to pass on to a younger generation more than sixty years' experience as a practising musician and teacher. Professor Rostal addresses himself to professional and amateur musicians alike, to students and to listeners, all of whom will derive pleasure and enlightenment from his words.

Each of the ten Sonatas is carefully discussed, the manuscripts and first and later editions meticulously compared. Musicians will find technical and interpretative problems approached and solved and the music-lover a helpful listener's guide to these ever-popular masterpieces. As the Amadeus Quartet's Preface says of this important book, `It is a "must" for all students and performers, and is a "must" for all lovers of Beethoven.'

A renowned violinist and teacher, Professor MAX ROSTAL studied music under Arnold Ros<138> and Carl Flesch. Founder and President of the European String Teachers' Association, he has made many recordings and is the editor of numerous wirks in the violin repertoire.
Keywords: Music


[A] valuable resource for teachers, students and performers [...] Throughout, Rostal's love for these masterpieces is evident. STRINGENDO