A History of the County of Middlesex

January 1962
38 black and white, 7 line illustrations
370 pages
30.5x20.8 cm
Victoria County History
ISBN: 9780712910347
Format: Hardback
Victoria County History

A History of the County of Middlesex

Volume III: Spelthorne Hundred (continued), Isleworth Hundred and Elthorne Hundred (part), with Index to Volumes II and III

Edited by Susan Reynolds

CONTAINED in the volume, originally published in 1962, are the histories of fourteen parishes in south-west Middlesex: Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, and Teddington in Spelthorne hundred; Heston-and-Isleworth and Twickenham in Isleworth hundred; and Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield, and Harlington in Elthorne hundred. The whole area is now divided between the London Boroughs of Ealing, Hillingdon, Hounslow, and Richmond upon Thames and the District of Spelthorne. Among its extensive modern suburbs are the vestiges of the earlier agricultural villages, and the best known of the surviving large houses are Syon House, Osterley Park, and Strawberry Hill. The index covers both Volumes Two and Three.

Also by Author

Also in Series