A Companion to the Works of J. M. Coetzee

A Companion to the Works of J. M. Coetzee

Edited by Tim Mehigan

eBook for Handhelds
New essays providing critical views of Coetzee's major works for the scholar and the general reader.
J. M. Coetzee is perhaps the most critically acclaimed bestselling author of imaginative fiction writing in English today. He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003 and is the first writer to have been awarded two Booker Prizes. The present volume makes critical views of this important writer accessible to the general reader as well as the scholar, discussing Coetzee's main works in chronological order and introducing the dominant themes in the academic discussion of his oeuvre.
The volume highlights Coetzee's exceptionally nuanced approach to writing as both an exacting craft and a challenging moral-ethical undertaking. It discusses Coetzee's complex relation to apartheid and post-apartheid South Africa, the land of his birth, and evaluates his complicated responses to the literary canon. Coetzee emerges as both a modernist and a highly self-aware postmodernist - a champion of the truths of a literary enterprise conducted unrelentingly in the mode of self-confession.

Contributors: Chris Ackerley, Derek Attridge, Carrol Clarkson, Simone Drichel, Johan Geertsema, David James, Michelle Kelly, Sue Kossew, Mike Marais, James Meffan, Tim Mehigan, Chris Prentice, Engelhard Weigl, Kim L. Worthington.

Tim Mehigan is Professor of Languages in the Department of Languages and Cultures at the University of Otago, New Zealand and Honorary Professor in the Department of Languages and Comparative Cultural Studies at the University of Queensland, Australia.

An e-book version of this title is available (9781571137838), to libraries through a number of trusted suppliers. See here for a full list of our partners.

Table of Contents

Introduction - Tim Mehigan
Scenes from Provincial Life (1997-2009) - Sue Kossew
Style: Coetzee and Beckett - Chris Ackerley
Dusklands (1974) - David James
In the Heart of the Country (1977) - Derek Attrige
Waiting for the Barbarians (1980) - Mike Marais
Life & Times of Michael K (1983) - Engelhard Weigl
Foe (1986) - Chris Prentice
Age of Iron (1990) - Kim L. Worthington
The Master of Petersburg (1994) - Michelle Kelly
Disgrace (1999) - Simone Drichel
Elizabeth Costello (2003) - James Meffan
Slow Man (2005) - Tim Mehigan
Diary of a Bad Year (2007) - Johan Geertsema
Coetzee's Criticism - Carrol Clarkson
Works Cited
Notes on the Contributors


[A]n excellent introduction to the scope of Coetzee's work and a fine contribution to the wealth of scholarship about him. . . . [A] cast of established and emerging Coetzee scholars . . . offer[s] probing and engaging discussions of individual works [from throughout Coetzee's career]. . . . [A] durable and reliable guide for readers at all levels. . . . Highly recommended. CHOICE

Also by Author

Also in Series

Related Titles

Encountering <I>Disgrace</I>

Encountering Disgrace

Starting at: $39.95